A letter of introduction from the IEB Chair, Debi Bailey

Dear Pupils, Parents and Carers,

On behalf of the Interim Executive Board (IEB) of St. Hild’s Church of England School, I wanted to take this opportunity to introduce myself and the rest of the board and explain a little about our role and what you can expect from us.

As you know, St. Hild’s was recently inspected and as part of the outcome of the inspection there have been changes made to governance within the school. An interim board has been put in place and a new group of board members have been asked to come together to help move the school forward. There are currently six members and we have been asked to join the board for a fixed period of time because our skills and experience match the current priorities of the school. It is our job to work with leaders within St. Hild’s to help make further rapid improvements to the school.

An IEB works differently to a local governing body in that we are time limited (we will be in place for about a year). Our job is to help ensure that the school has a strategy for sustainable improvement, at which point we will help the school to re-establish a governing body that will work in a way you will be more familiar with.

Having said that, the best way to ensure we help the school make improvements quickly is to get to know the school and the community it serves. We have already met as a aboard and are beginning to understand some of the key strengths and key challenges that the school is facing.
Over the next few months, we intent to meet with staff, pupils, parents and carers. We look forward to hearing from you what life is like at St. Hild’s, what makes the school unique and a place where pupils want to come to and learn, and how we can all help to make St. Hild’s as good as it can be. We will be meeting with school leaders regularly so we can offer support and challenge around the school’s key priorities. We will also provide you with a termly update of our work and next steps.

In the meantime, we have provided with this letter some information on each of the board members so that you have a better understanding of who is currently working alongside school leaders within your school.

We are all really committed to our roles and we join your Headteacher, Tracey Gibson, in assuring you that we will build on the work already done in order to ensure the very best opportunities for the young people within St. Hild’s.

Best wishes and I very much look forward to meeting you.

Debi Bailey
Interim Executive Board

The Members of the Interim Executive Board:

  • Debi Bailey - Chair of the Board

  • Mark Hughes - Vice Chair of the  Board

  • Amanda Whitehead

  • Jane Young

  • Father Graeme Buttery

  • Julie Cordiner
IEB Business Interests
Supporting image for

Governing Body 2019

The members of the Governing body stepped down from their positions on 31st December 2019.  

The work of the governing body is to monitor the work of the school in a strategic way.This means that they ensure the school has in place all the policies and procedures which are prescribed by law as well as others which explain how the school does its work. Full governors meetings occur throughout the year and governors are regularly given an update on the performance of the school. It is also a role of the governing body to make sure the recommendations contained in Ofsted and SIAS reports are carried out.

Governors also work in smaller groups to monitor the overall effectiveness of different areas of school life:

The Finance and Personnel & Pay Committee makes sure the school budget and finances are used appropriately and in the right areas as well as ensuring the well-being of staff who work in the school.

The Student Welfare and Admissions Committee ensures the well-being of all the students in the school and monitors the pupils who are admitted to the school or who leave St. Hild’s.

Members of the Governing body are:

Mr Darren Hankey (Chair)

Mrs Tracey Gibson

Rev. Roz Hall

Mr Brian Hays

Dr John Moore

Mrs Jennifer Lewis (Vice Chair)

Rev. Verity Brown

Mrs Julie Newbury

Mr Howard Bedford

Mrs Julie Cordiner

Mrs Jacqueline Gilbert

Ms Alix Bolton

Mr Matthew Coe

Mrs Sarah Clasper

Ms Maria Murray


1.The name of the school is St. Hild’s Church of England (Aided) School.
2.The school is a voluntary aided comprehensive school where the foundation is the Parochial Church Council of the Parish of St Hilda’s, Hartlepool and the Parochial Church Council of the Parish of Holy Trinity West View, Hartlepool.
3.The name of the Governing Body is "The Governing Body of St. Hild’s Church of England (Aided) School”.
4.The governing body shall consist of:
a)2 Parent Governors
b)1 Head Teacher
c)1 Staff Governor
d)1 Local Authority Governor
e)3 Co-opted Governors
f)10 Foundation Governors
5.Total number of governors 18.
6.Foundation governors shall be appointed and removed by the following bodies:-
a)Two Foundation Governors shall be ex officio as set out in paragraph 7a.
b)Two Foundation governors shall be appointed by the Durham Diocesan Board of Education after consultation with the Parochial Church Councils of St. Hilda’s and Holy Trinity West View, Hartlepool.
c)Two appointed by Hartlepool Deanery Synod in consultation with the Parochial Church Councils of St Hilda’s and Holy Trinity West View Hartlepool
d)Two Foundation governors shall be appointed by the Parochial Church Council of St. Hilda’s, Hartlepool.
e)Two Foundation Governors shall be appointed by the Parochial Church Council of Holy Trinity West View, Hartlepool
7.a)the holders of the following offices shall be foundation governors ex officio.
The Incumbent or Priest in Charge of the Parish of St. Hilda’s Hartlepool, and
The Incumbent or Priest in Charge of the Parish of Holy Trinity West View Hartlepool.
b) The Durham Diocesan Board of Education, in consultation with the Archdeacon of the Archdeaconry within which the school is situated , shall appoint Foundation Governors, to act in the place of the ex officio Foundation Governors whose governorship derives from the office named in (a) above, in the event that the ex-officio Foundation Governor is unable or unwilling to act as a Foundation Governor, or has been removed from office under regulation21(1)of the Regulations or there is a vacancy in the office by virtue of which his governorship exists.
8. The Director of Education for the Diocese of Durham shall be entitled to request the removal of any ex-officio Foundation Governor and to appoint any substitute governor.
9. The Foundation Governors are the Trustees of the School.
10. “Recognising the historic foundation, the school will preserve and develop its religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England and in partnership with the Church at parish and diocesan level. The school aims to serve its community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. It encourages an understanding of the meaning and significance of faith, and promotes Christian values through the experience it offers to all its pupils."
11. This instrument of government comes into effect on 1st September 2015.
12. This instrument was made by order of Hartlepool Local Authority on 8th August 2015.
13. A copy of the instrument must be supplied to every member of the Governing Body (and the Headteacher if not a governor) any trustees and to the religious body.